Budapest
by Chris Ryall

Chris is an avid traveller who loves immersing himself into the local culture. He has been fortunate to do just that in more than 80 countries. His camera lens focuses not only on stunning landscapes but on the faces of the locals at markets and going about their daily lives.

How to get there

From
Calgary
Edmonton
Montreal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montreal , fly with Air France or KLM.


Earn even more Miles when traveling in Premium Economy or Business Class.

Book Air France Book KLM

Castle district

Located on the Buda side is the city’s cultural and historical Castle District and home to the Buda Castle. Walk (it’s a steep walk!) or hop on a bus, funicular or segway for the ride up to the top of Castle Hill. Here Budapest and Hungary’s rich culture and history intertwine. Don’t miss the Changing of the Guard held every hour in front of the Presidential Palace. Learn about Hungary’s turbulent history and significant arts contribution at Budapest History Museum and Hungarian National Gallery.

Danube river cruise

Relax in comfort, sip on your favourite beverage while enjoying a scenic Danube River cruise. Budapest offers numerous choices from basic sightseeing 60-minute cruises to elegant evening dinner cruises with live bands. As you cruise down the river observe Budapest’s architectural and design marvels from the Parliament Building, St. Stephen’s Basilica, Citadella, Mt. Gellért, Buda Castle, Chain Bridge and Margaret Island. Budapest is especially beautiful at night when the lights on Parliament and other buildings are illuminated. Most river cruises offer narrated multilingual audio guides.

Want more Miles?
Stay at the Hilton!

Exchange your Hilton Honors Points for Flying Blue Miles!

What about the Hilton Budapest, located in the Royal Castle District, a UNESCO World Heritage Sit.

Quirky museums

Budapest has numerous traditional art and history museums but it likes to show off its quirky side too. Fond of magic? Check out the House of Houdini, and learn what tricks magician Harry Houdini (who was born in Budapest) had up his sleeve. Chocoholics can satisfy their cravings at the Szamos Chocolate Museum featuring a scale model of Budapest’s Parliament Building. Think you are a Pinball Wizard? Get your flippers going at the Budapest Pinball Museum equipped with more than 130 vintage pinball machines.

Central Market Hall

A feast for your eyes and your taste buds are waiting at one of Europe’s most beautiful indoor markets. Built in 1896, Central Market Hall in Pest is an architecturally and foodie pleasing marketplace serving up the freshest produce, meats, fish, and distinctly Hungarian paprika, wine from Tokaj, goose liver and more. On the upper level, pick up some local handicrafts and grab a bite from vendors selling inexpensive mouth-watering chicken paprika, goulash and sausage meals. Culture tastes good.

Budapest baths

It’s always bath time in Budapest! Home to 118 natural springs ranging in temperature from 21 to 78 Celsius, visiting the baths is a ritual for locals as is a daily morning cup of java.

Enjoy the therapeutic benefits in one of Europe’s largest bath complexes, Széchenyi Bath with its thermal pools, saunas, steam rooms – you can even have a private beer bath! Rudas Bath has been the destination of bathers since 1520 and has a skyline view of Pest. For traditionalists Lukács Bath is a great choice with stunning centuries old architecture and a local favourite. It’s best to call ahead as some baths have male and female only days. Bring your own towel, sandals and robe to save a few dollars.

Canadian Rockies Hot Springs,
WestJet takes you there

A few kilometers from Calgary, in Banff, you can also visit the Canadian Rockies Hot Springs.

And in addition, you can earn or use Flying Blue Miles on WestJet flights to Calgary.

More to discover

Budapest
par Chris Ryall

Chris est un passionné de voyage et de photo qui aime s’imprégner de la culture locale. À ce jour, il a eu la chance de suivre sa passion dans plus de 80 pays. Avec l’objectif de sa caméra, il saisit non seulement des paysages à couper le souffle, mais aussi le visage des habitants dans les marchés locaux et dans leur quotidien.

Comment s'y rendre

Au départ de
Calgary
Edmonton
Montréal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montréal , envolez-vous avec Air France ou KLM.


Accumulez encore plus de Miles en voyageant en classe Premium Economy ou Business.

Je voyage avec Air France Je voyage avec KLM

Quartier du château

Le Quartier du Château situé sur la rive Buda de la ville est un quartier historique et culturel où l’on trouve le Château de Buda. Marchez (sur un chemin escarpé), prenez un segway ou sautez à bord d’un autobus ou du funiculaire pour vous rendre jusqu’au sommet de la colline du château. Ici, la culture et l’histoire riches de Budapest et de la Hongrie s’entremêlent. Ne manquez pas la Relève de la garde qui se déroule toutes les heures devant le Palais présidentiel. Découvrez l’histoire mouvementée de la Hongrie et sa contribution artistique au Musée historique de Budapest et à la Galerie nationale hongroise.

Croisière sur le Danube

Relaxez confortablement et sirotez votre boisson favorite, tout en profitant du paysage lors d’une croisière sur le Danube. Budapest propose plusieurs choix de croisières de 60 minutes allant des croisières de base aux élégantes croisières de soirée comprenant le souper et l’orchestre. Le long du fleuve, contemplez les merveilles d’architecture et de conception de Budapest dont l’édifice du Parlement, la Basilique Saint-Étienne de Pest, la Citadelle, le mont Gellért, le Château de Buda, le Pont des chaînes et l’île Marguerite. Budapest est particulièrement belle la nuit lorsque le parlement et les autres édifices s’illuminent. La plupart des croisières fluviales proposent des guides audio multilingues.

Séjournez au Hilton
et gagnez des Miles

Échangez vos Points Hilton Honors contre des Miles Flying Blue.

Pour votre séjour, nous vous proposons le Hilton Budapest, situé en plein cœur de la ville dans une église du XIIIe siècle.

Musées originaux

Budapest regorge de musées traditionnels d’art et d’histoire, et elle aime aussi afficher son côté excentrique. Féru de magie? Allez voir la « maison d’Houdini » et apprenez les tours de magie que le magicien Houdini (né à Budapest) cachait dans sa manche. Les accros du chocolat pourront satisfaire leurs envies au Szamos Chocolate Museum qui présente une réplique à l’échelle de l’édifice du Parlement de Budapest. Vous croyez être un as de la machine à boules? Activez vos « flippers » au Budapest Pinball Museum où l’on trouve plus de 130 machines à boule rétro.

Halles centrales

Un régal pour vos yeux et vos papilles vous attend à l’un des plus beaux marchés intérieurs d’Europe. Construit en 1896, le Central Market Hall de Pest est un marché gourmand à l’architecture agréable qui propose les produits, les viandes et les poissons les plus frais ainsi que du paprika hongrois, du vin de Tokaj et du foie d’oie, et bien plus encore. À l’étage, les marchands vous proposent de l’artisanat local ou de savoureux repas de poulet au paprika, de goulash et de saucisses à bas prix. La culture a du goût.

Les bains de Budapest

C’est toujours l’heure du bain à Budapest, terre d’accueil de 118 sources naturelles aux températures de 21 à 78°C! Pour les habitants locaux, visiter les bains est un rituel, tout comme boire une tasse de café Java le matin. Profitez des bienfaits thérapeutiques de l’un des plus gros complexes de bains en Europe, les bains de Széchenyi, avec ses piscines thermales, ses saunas, ses bains de vapeur — vous pouvez même y prendre un bain dans la bière! Les Thermes Rudas attirent les baigneurs depuis 1520 et offrent une vue imprenable sur Pest. Pour les traditionalistes, les bains Lukács constituent un excellent choix avec son incroyable architecture centenaire et il est le favori des résidents locaux. Il est préférable de téléphoner avant de se rendre, car certains bains ont des journées réservées uniquement aux hommes ou aux femmes. Apportez vos serviettes, sandales et sorties de bain pour économiser quelques dollars.

Sources thermales de Banff,
WestJet vous y emmène

À quelques kilomètres de Calgary, à Banff, vous pouvez aussi visiter les sources thermales des Rocheuses canadiennes.

En plus, vous pouvez gagner ou dépenser des Miles Flying Blue sur les vols WestJet pour Calgary.

Découvrez également