Cape Town
by Tim Johnson

Tim Johnson has always loved to travel. Growing up in a family that packed up the car and hit the highway every summer on epic, cross-continental road trips, a desire to explore in his very DNA.

timjohnsontravels.com

How to get there

From
Calgary
Edmonton
Montreal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montreal , fly with Air France or KLM.


Earn even more Miles when traveling in Premium Economy or Business Class.

Book Air France Book KLM

Zeitz MOCAA

The first museum of its kind on the continent, the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa was opened to considerable fanfare last year. Occupying 42 former grain silos—rooms were cut inside using razor-sharp diamond-mining technology—MOCAA is on a mission to exhibit 21st century art from Africa and its diaspora. It’s a vast and fascinating place, encompassing more than 100 galleries spread over nine floors, with pieces ranging from traditional visual art to animation and film, all of them with a story to tell about Africa, and being African.

Robben Island

This year, South Africa is celebrating the centenary of Nelson Mandela’s birth, and on Robben Island, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, you can follow in his footsteps. Take a short ferry ride across Table Bay to this, the “Alcatraz of Africa,” and see where Mandela spent 18 of his 27 years of incarceration. It’s a sombre place, to be sure, but a hopeful one too, as you learn about the Nobel laureate and first democratically elected president of South Africa from former political prisoners, who lead all tours, knew him personally, and can recount how this beloved figure led his nation peacefully forward from the apartheid era.

Earn Miles on tailor-made travel experiences

Earn Miles on tailor-made travel experiences in more than 140 countries! Uniktour Voyageurs du Monde has been crafting tailor-made travel adventures for more than 3 decades. A team of 177 travel specialists are keen to share local knowledge and connections in more than 140 countries with you. They can hook you up with a fellow snowboarder in the Himalayas, an architect in Yokohama, a Slow Food chef in Naples or other locals with the same passions as you.

Winelands

South African wine is famous all over the world, and you don’t have to drive far to taste some of the best. Constantia—a suburb of Cape Town, just 15 kilometres from the city centre—is part of the country’s “winelands” and home to almost a dozen vineyards and a wine route, with tastings at every turn. You can also pair your glass (or bottle) with some excellent cuisine, available at places like Simon’s at the 300-year-old Groot Constantia estate, where you can dine on the patio, overlooking the valley from whence your wine came.

4Roomed

Four years ago, Abigail Mbalo was just another reality show contestant, trying out for—and then becoming a finalist—on South Africa’s edition of Gordon Ramsey’s Master Chef. Now, she’s taken the skills that propelled her to television fame back to her home in the township of Khayelitsha, just outside Cape Town, first setting up a food truck, and now 4Roomed, an acclaimed bricks-and-mortar restaurant. While she says many black professionals move from the townships to the suburbs once they make a little money, Mbalo is proud to serve up township cuisine, with a twist, cooking the dishes she grew up eating, with fresh, healthy ingredients in a sunny space that seats just 40.

Crypt Jazz

Located in the basement of historic St. George’s Cathedral—where Desmond Tutu once presided as archbishop—The Crypt Jazz Restaurant stages live music, everything from Dixieland to cool jazz, five nights a week. They also serve up surprisingly good food and wine, with steaks sourced from a nearby reserve and dry-aged for almost three weeks, and cheeses made by 65 local farmhouse cheese makers. Dine, then dance.

Vancouver,
WestJet takes you there

Explore another ocean and discover the Queen of the Pacific. Canada's most cosmopolitan city, Vancouver invites you to travel, without even leaving the country.

And in addition, you can earn or use Flying Blue Miles on WestJet flights to Vancouver.

More to discover

Le Cap
par Tim Johnson

Tim Johnson a toujours aimé voyager. Ayant grandi dans une famille qui, chaque été, pliait bagage pour prendre la route et vivre des aventures épiques à parcourir le continent, on peut affirmer que le voyage fait partie de son ADN.

timjohnsontravels.com

Comment s'y rendre

Au départ de
Calgary
Edmonton
Montréal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montréal , envolez-vous avec Air France ou KLM.


Accumulez encore plus de Miles en voyageant en classe Premium Economy ou Business.

Je voyage avec Air France Je voyage avec KLM

Musée Zeitz
d’art contemporain d’Afrique

Premier du genre sur le continent, le musée Zeitz d’art contemporain d’Afrique (MOCAA) a ouvert ses portes en grande pompe l’an dernier. Occupant 42 anciens silos à grain — à l’intérieur desquels les pièces ont été taillées au moyen de la technologie de forage au diamant — le MOCAA a pour mission d’exposer l’art du 21e siècle de l’Afrique et de la diaspora. Sa structure est énorme et fascinante, et compte plus de 100 galeries réparties sur neuf étages qui présentent une variété d’œuvres d’art de styles différents allant de l’art visuel traditionnel à l’animation et au cinéma, dont chacune renferme une histoire à raconter sur l’Afrique et sur l’identité africaine.

"Robben Island"

Cette année, l’Afrique du Sud célèbre le centenaire de la naissance de Nelson Mandela, et sur Robben Island, patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, vous pourrez marcher sur ses traces. Prenez place à bord du transbordeur qui traverse la baie de Table pour vous rendre à l’« Alcatraz d’Afrique », et voyez où Mandela a passé 18 de ses 27 années d’incarcération. Dans ce sombre endroit, certes, mais rempli d’espoir, vous en apprendrez plus sur l’histoire du lauréat d’un prix Nobel et premier président de l’Afrique du Sud élu démocratiquement. Tous les tours étant guidés par d’anciens prisonniers politiques qui ont personnellement connu Mandela, vous découvrirez comment ce grand homme aimé de tous a permis à sa nation de traverser l’ère de l’Apartheid pacifiquement.

Gagnez des Miles avec des voyages sur mesure

Gagnez des Miles avec des voyages sur mesure dans plus de 140 pays ! Uniktour Voyageurs du Monde conçoit des voyages sur mesure depuis plus de 30 ans. Ses 177 spécialistes du voyage vous révèlent leurs connaissances et leurs relations dans plus de 140 pays. Faites la connaissance d'un snowboarder dans l'Himalaya, d'un architecte à Yokohama, d'un chef spécialisé dans la Slow Food à Naples, et bien d'autres locaux encore qui partagent votre passion.

"Winelands"

Les vins sud-africains sont reconnus mondialement et il n’est pas nécessaire de conduire pendant des heures pour déguster certains des meilleurs vins de la région. À quelque 15 kilomètres à peine du centre-ville se trouve Constantia, une banlieue de Cape Town qui fait partie des winelands et où l’on retrouve près d’une douzaine de vignobles, une route des vins, et des dégustations à chaque tournant. Vous pouvez aussi accorder votre vin (au verre ou à la bouteille) à d’excellents plats à certains endroits, comme Simon’s au domaine tricentenaire Groot Constantia, où vous pouvez dîner sur la terrasse surplombant la vallée d’où provient votre vin.

4Roomed

Il y a quatre ans, Abigail Mbalo n’était qu’une autre concurrente de l’édition sud-africaine de l’émission de télé-réalité Master Chef de Gordon Ramsey — et elle s’est rendue en finale. Aujourd’hui, elle a ramené tout le savoir-faire qui l’a fait connaître dans sa ville natale, Khayelitsha, non loin de Cape Town. Elle a d’abord exploité un camion de cuisine de rue et, par la suite, 4Roomed, un restaurant renommé ayant pignon sur rue. Bien qu’elle affirme que plusieurs professionnels noirs quittent les « townships » (les quartiers pauvres de la ville) vers la banlieue lorsqu’ils commencent à faire un peu d’argent, Mbalo est fière de servir une cuisine des townships, à laquelle elle ajoute une touche spéciale. Elle cuisine les plats de son enfance avec des ingrédients frais et sains dans un petit endroit ensoleillé qui ne compte que 40 places.

Crypt Jazz

Situé au sous-sol de la cathédrale historique St-George, où Desmond Tutu a déjà célébré en tant qu’archevêque, The Crypt Jazz Restaurant présente des concerts en direct cinq soirs par semaine, du Dixieland au jazz tendance. Vous serez agréablement surpris par la cuisine et la carte des vins, entre autres par leur bœuf vieilli à sec pendant près de trois semaines qui provient d’une réserve avoisinante et par les fromages provenant de 65 fromagers locaux. Dînez, puis trémoussez-vous sur la piste de danse.

Vancouver,
WestJet vous y emmène

Explorez un autre océan et découvrez la reine du Pacifique. Ville la plus cosmopolite du Canada, Vancouver vous invite au voyage, sans même quitter le pays.

En plus, vous pouvez gagner ou dépenser des Miles Flying Blue sur les vols WestJet pour Vancouver.

Découvrez également