Delhi
by Parm Johal

Parm Johal is the founder and editor of Desi Globetrotter, an international travel lifestyle magazine + blog with a focus on independent travel.

desiglobetrotter.com

How to get there

From
Calgary
Edmonton
Montreal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montreal , fly with Air France or KLM.


Earn even more Miles when traveling in Premium Economy or Business Class.

Book Air France Book KLM

Discover Colourful Murals
in the Lodhi Art District

If you love art and photography, stroll through the Lodhi Art District for a multi-coloured view of Delhi. Dubbed as India’s first open-air public art district, the Lodhi street art project first launched in 2016 by the St+art Foundation as a way to make art accessible to all. This pedestrian-friendly zone is filled with twenty-nine vibrant large-scale murals painted by Indian and international artists. Experience Delhi with a splash of colour - join a street art tour or simply enjoy an afternoon admiring the street art on your own.

Explore Delhi’s Creative Scene
at Hauz Khas Village

For a look into contemporary Delhi, walk through the lanes of Hauz Khas Village, a trendy district popular with Delhi’s young, creative artists and entrepreneurs. From art galleries and design studios to cool cafes and restaurants, Hauz Khas is home to Social - part café and cocktail space with a rooftop lounge, part work hub for artists and innovators; the Delhi Art Gallery – a modern art space featuring exhibitions by top Indian artists; and Saffron Palate – an interactive cooking workshop where travelers can learn about Indian spices and techniques in an authentic home-based setting.

Rent a car
and earn Miles

Rack up Miles! Rent a car to one of the Flying Blue partners. Avis, Hertz, Budget, Enterprise... Wherever you go, wherever you stay, don't forget to present you Flying Blue membership card!

Listen to the Hypnotic Sounds
of Qawwali Music
at an Ancient Sufi Shrine

For a deeper understanding of Delhi’s history of Mughal rule and cultural influence, visit Hazrat Nizamuddin Dargah, an over 400 year old mausoleum dedicated to a 14th century mystic saint. Immerse yourself in the centuries old tradition of qawwali, a form of poetic, passionate, lively Sufi music that will place you in a trance. This popular site is filled with thousands of pilgrims each week; expect crowds, aroma of incense, offering of flowers and possible touts looking to take advantage of tourists. Move past for a magical musical experience that transports you to 14th century Delhi. Qawwali sessions take place every evening (except Thursdays) from 7:45pm-8:30pm.

Take a Street Food Tour
of Old Delhi

Delhi is an adventurous playground for foodies, yet with countless options available it can become overwhelming quite quickly. To fully appreciate Delhi cuisine, take a street food tour with Delhi Food Walks to help guide your taste buds. The most authentic soulful street food is found in the noisy back lanes of Chandni Chowk and Chawri Bazaar in Old Delhi. With a local culinary expert leading the way, try tasty kebabs, biryanis, paranthe (flat bread), aloo chaat (fried potatoes with onions and chutney) and sweet desserts like jalebis and kulfi for a flavourful peak into Delhi’s gastronomic heritage.

Learn New Dance Moves

Intrigued by the energetic hip-shaking featured in Bollywood movies? Try the Namaste India Workshop at Delhi Dance Academy for a fun two-hour crash course in Indian dance. Designed specifically for travellers, learn the basics to three different dance genres: Bollywood, Bhangra and Dandiya. Gain further insight into India’s dance culture and as a bonus, receive a two-minute video of your dance as a souvenir.

Toronto,
WestJet takes you there

What about Toronto? Little India is home to the Gerrard India Bazaar, North America’s largest South Asian ethnic market.

And in addition, you can earn or use Flying Blue Miles on WestJet flights to Toronto.

More to discover

Delhi
par Parm Johal

Parm Johal est la fondatrice et éditrice de Desi Globetrotter, magazine et blogue international consacré au style de vie et au voyage indépendant. Établie à Vancouver, Parm est également une professionnelle des arts et de la culture.

desiglobetrotter.com

Comment s'y rendre

Au départ de
Calgary
Edmonton
Montréal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montréal , envolez-vous avec Air France ou KLM.


Accumulez encore plus de Miles en voyageant en classe Premium Economy ou Business.

Je voyage avec Air France Je voyage avec KLM

Quartier artistique de Lodhi

Si vous êtes passionné d’art et de photographie, faites une promenade dans le Lodhi Art District de Delhi pour avoir un point de vue haut en couleur de la ville. Reconnu comme le premier quartier à ciel ouvert dédié à l’art public en Inde, le quartier Lodhi est l’hôte d’un projet d’art public lancé en 2016 par la St+art Foundation dont la mission est de rendre l’art accessible à tous. Cette zone piétonnière compte vingt-neuf immenses murales aux couleurs vibrantes peintes par des artistes indiens et internationaux. Ajoutez de la couleur à votre séjour à Delhi en prenant part à une visite guidée des œuvres ou passez simplement un après-midi à admirer la richesse de l’art urbain à votre rythme.

Explorez la scène créative

Découvrez le côté moderne de Delhi en déambulant dans les rues du Hauz Khas Village, un quartier branché et populaire qui regorge de jeunes artistes et entrepreneurs. Hauz Khas déborde de galeries d’art, de studios de design, de cafés et de restaurants branchés. Vous y trouverez le Social, un espace multifonctionnel doté d’une terrasse sur le toit qui sert à la fois de café et de bar, ainsi que d’espace de travail pour les artistes et les innovateurs; le Delhi Art Gallery, un espace dédié à l’art moderne qui présente les expositions des artistes indiens les plus en vue; et le Saffron Palate, un atelier de cuisine interactif où les voyageurs peuvent parfaire leurs connaissances des épices et des techniques de la cuisine indienne dans un décor traditionnel.

Gagnez des Miles en louant une voiture

Accumulez encore plus de Miles en louant une voiture chez l'un des nobreux partenaires de Flying Blue. Avis, Hertz, Budget, Entreprise ... Où que vous soyez, où que vous alliez, n'oubliez pas de présenter votre carte Flying Blue !

Les sonorités envoûtantes de la musique de Qawwali

Pour mieux comprendre l’histoire et les influences de la culture de l’Empire moghole sur Delhi, visitez le Hazrat Nizamuddin Dargah, un mausolée datant de plus de 400 ans dédié à ce saint mythique du 14e siècle. Imprégnez-vous de la tradition ancestrale qawwali, un type de chant à la fois poétique, passionné et vivant qui vous fera entrer dans un état de transe. Ce site populaire accueille des milliers de pèlerins chaque semaine, alors attendez-vous à ce que l’endroit où flotte un parfum d’encens soit fort achalandé et couvert d’offrandes de fleurs. Vous risquez également de croiser des vendeurs insistants qui cherchent à exploiter les touristes, mais faites-en fi, et profitez de cette expérience musicale magique qui vous transportera à Delhi au 14e siècle. Les séances de Qawwali se déroulent chaque soir, sauf le jeudi, de 19h45 à 20h30.

Cuisine de rue
dans le Vieux Delhi

Delhi est un terrain de jeux audacieux pour les passionnés de cuisine qui, en raison de la multitude d’options, peut rapidement devenir étourdissant. Pour apprécier pleinement la cuisine de rue de Delhi, prenez part à une excursion culinaire avec Delhi Food Walks et laissez-vous guider par vos papilles. Vous trouverez une cuisine de rue authentique dans les ruelles achalandées de Chandni Chowk et de Chawri Bazaar dans le Vieux Delhi. En compagnie d’un guide local expert en cuisine, dégustez des kebabs, des biryanis, du parantha (pain plat), du aloo chaat (des pommes de terre frites avec des oignons et du chutney) et des desserts sucrés comme la zlabia et le kulfi pour avoir un aperçu du savoureux héritage gastronomique de Delhi.

Apprenez de nouveaux pas de danse

Les danses aux déhanchements énergiques des films bollywoodiens vous intriguent? Participez au Namaste India Workshop à la Delhi Dance Academy, un atelier de danse indienne amusant de deux heures. Conçu spécialement pour les voyageurs, cet atelier vous apprendra les trois principaux styles de danse indienne : le Bollywood, le Bhangra et le Dandiya. Apprenez-en plus sur la culture de la danse en Inde et en prime, recevez un vidéosouvenir de votre cours de danse.

Toronto,
WestJet vous y emmène

À Toronto, l'Inde du Nord et du Sud, le Pakistan, le Sri Lanka et le Bangladesh sont tous représentés dans les restaurants, les marchés et les bazars de l'exotique quartier de Little India.

En plus, vous pouvez gagner ou dépenser des Miles Flying Blue sur les vols WestJet pour Toronto.

Découvrez également