Venice
by Louise Gaboury

Travel professional, Louise Gaboury has been exploring the world for more than fifteen years. Her journeys are guided by her background in history, a taste for the arts and literature, and an interest in popular traditions and the origins of regional cuisine.

planetmonde.com

How to get there

From
Calgary
Edmonton
Montreal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montreal , fly with Air France or KLM.


Earn even more Miles when traveling in Premium Economy or Business Class.

Book Air France Book KLM

Read before you go

Follow Commissario Guido Brunetti as the police commissioner covers Venice in all directions in pursuit of wrongdoers. Along the way, the author of this popular series, the Venetian-by-adoption Donna Leon, touches on the city’s administration and denounces pollution and corruption.

Discover the truly romantic side of Venice by reading No Fixed Abode by Fruttero and Lucentini—a sheer delight.

Far from the madding crowd

Stroll away from Piazza San Marco and explore the districts where the Venetians live. Welcome to the Venice of clotheslines, neighbours sipping their caffè at the bar with friends, and children playing ball on the campi (city squares). Explore Cannaregio around the Chiesa dei Miracoli (Church of Miracles), and Castello, beyond the Arsenale. Wander around the Giardini Pubblici. Venture into the Dorsoduro District, where the last remaining gondola repair workshop is located, and enjoy a delicious meal on the terrace at Campo Santa Margherita, where you might see children learning to ride a bike in the spacious square and you can visit the small market.

Dare to head on
less frequented islands

Some of the more hidden-away islands are well worth a visit. Isola di San Michele is Venice’s cemetery. You can see the tombs of some well-known people, such as the choreographer Diaghilev, whose tomb is always decorated with pink ballet slippers. Isola di Sant’Erasmo, where the famous purple artichokes are grown, has long been the city’s vegetable garden. There’s a good chance that you’ll spot one or two tractors there. A Frenchman, Michel Thoulouze, restored wine-grape production on the island after two centuries of neglect. He produces an excellent white wine called Orto di Venezia. Take a trip to Torcello to admire the outstanding mosaics at the Cathedral of Maria Assunta. The islands of San Francesco del Deserto and San Lazarro degli Armeni, which are harder to reach, are home to monasteries.

More Miles with
Best Western

Earn 250 Miles per stay with the world’s biggest hotel.

In Venice, the Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena will provide a rare and exceptionally serene backdrop to Venice.

Venetian gastronomy

Share the enthusiasm of the Venetians for cichetti, Venetian appetizers that are eaten along with a glass of Prosecco, Aperol Spritz or ombra, a local wine whose name comes from the fact that wine street vendors would move around to stay in the shade at Piazza San Marco. Savour bigoli in salsa (whole-wheat spaghetti with anchovy sauce), fegato alla veneziana (veal liver pan-fried with copious amounts of onions), risi e bisi (green peas), baccalà mantecato (codfish brandade) and risotto nero (with cuttlefish ink). In the springtime, jump on the chance to try the moeche (soft crabs) and Sant’Erasmo artichokes, both protected by the Slow Food movement.

Houses and Museums

Venture inside the house where arts patron and collector Peggy Guggenheim lived, and the admirably restored Palazzo Grimani, and don’t forget the contemporary art museums housed in enchanting places such as Palazzo Grassi and Punta della Dogana. Take advantage of the Biennale (the next one will be in 2019) to wander from the beaten path and discover palaces that are not usually open to the public. If you still have time left, visit Casino Venier, a hidden gem that is laden with history and is now the headquarters of the Alliance Française.

Fort Lauderdale,
WestJet takes you there

Would you like to discover the canals of Venice?
Fly to Florida, and discover those in Fort Lauderdale in addition to its beautiful beaches.

And in addition, you can earn or use Flying Blue Miles on WestJet flights to Fort Lauderdale.

More to discover

Venise
par Louise Gaboury

Professionnelle du voyage, Louise Gaboury parcourt le monde depuis plus de quinze ans. Sa formation en histoire, son goût pour les arts, la littérature, les traditions populaires et les racines de la gastronomie régionale guident ses pas.

planetmonde.com

Comment s'y rendre

Au départ de
Calgary
Edmonton
Montréal
Toronto
Vancouver
Montréal , envolez-vous avec Air France ou KLM.


Accumulez encore plus de Miles en voyageant en classe Premium Economy ou Business.

Je voyage avec Air France Je voyage avec KLM

À lire avant de partir

Suivez le commissaire Guido Brunetti qui arpente Venise dans tous les sens à la poursuite des malfaiteurs. Son autrice, la Vénitienne d’adoption Donna Leon, égratigne au passage l’administration de la ville et dénonce pollution et corruption.

Découvrez une Venise d’un romantisme absolu en dévorant L’amant sans domicile fixe de Fruttero et Lucentini, un pur enchantement.

Loin de la foule déchaînée

Tournez le dos à la piazza San Marco et perdez-vous dans les quartiers où vivent les Vénitiens. Bienvenue dans la Venise des cordes à linge, des voisines qui sirotent leur caffè au bar entre amies et des enfants qui jouent au ballon sur les campi. Explorez Cannaregio autour de la chiesa dei Miracoli, et Castello, au-delà de l’Arsenale. Flânez dans les Giardini Pubblici. Aventurez-vous dans le Dorsoduro, où se trouve le dernier atelier de réparation de gondoles, et attablez-vous sur une terrasse du délicieux campo Santa Margherita qui dispose d’un espace assez grand pour que les petits puissent s’initier au vélo, et où se tient un petit marché.

Osez mettre le cap
sur des îles moins fréquentées

L’Isola San Michele est le cimetière de Venise. On peut y voir quelques tombes de gens célèbres, dont celle du chorégraphe Diaghilev, toujours ornée de chaussons de ballet roses. L’isola Sant’Erasmo, terroir du célèbre artichaut violet, est depuis longtemps le potager de Venise. Vous risquez d’y voir un tracteur ou deux… Un Français, Michel Thoulouze, a ressuscité la viticulture après deux siècles d’abandon. Il fabrique un excellent vin blanc baptisé Orto di Venezia. Une escale à Torcello permet d’admirer les exceptionnelles mosaïques de la cathédrale Maria Assunta. Les îles de San Francesco del deserto et San Lazarro degli Armeni, plus difficile d’accès, abritent des monastères.

Plus de Miles avec
Best Western

Gagnez 250 Miles par séjour dans la plus grande chaîne hôtelière du monde.

À Venise, fuyez la foule et profitez de votre séjour au Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena, qui offre une toile de fond rare et particulièrement tranquille.

La gastronomie vénitienne

Partagez l’enthousiasme des Vénitiens pour les cichetti, ces hors-d’œuvres vénitiens qu’on déguste avec un Prosecco, un Spritz Aperol ou un ombra, verre de vin local qui tient son nom du fait que les vendeurs de vins ambulants se déplaçaient pour rester à l’ombre sur la piazza San Marco. Dégustez les bigoli in salsa (aux anchois), le fegato alla veneziana (foie de veau poêlé avec beaucoup d’oignons), le risi e bisi (aux pois verts), le baccalà mantecato (brandade de morue) et le risotto nero (à l’encre de seiche). Au printemps, sautez sur les moeche (crabes mous) et l’artichaut de Sant’Erasmo, tous deux protégés par le mouvement Slowfood.

Maisons et musées

Poussez la porte de la maison où vécut la mécène et collectionneuse Peggy Guggenheim, celle du Palazzo Grimani, admirablement restauré, et des musées d’art contemporain aménagés dans des lieux magiques comme le Palazzo Grassi et la Punta della dogana. Profitez de la Biennale pour sortir des sentiers battus et découvrir des palais qui ne sont habituellement pas ouverts au public. Il vous reste un peu de temps ? Visitez le Casino Venier, ce lieu secret chargé d’histoire où loge l’Alliance française…

Fort Lauderdale,
WestJet vous y emmène

Vous avez aimé les canaux de Venise ? Découvrez aussi ceux de Fort Lauderdale, en Floride, en plus de ses magnifiques plages.

En plus, vous pouvez gagner ou dépenser des Miles Flying Blue sur les vols WestJet pour Fort Lauderdale.

Découvrez également